jump to navigation

Alkaline Eating June 10, 2009

Posted by Hydy in alkaline.
Tags: , ,
trackback

A week ago today, I started on a new plan to improve my health. I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis in 1997, and have been battling it with many combinations of drugs for the last twelve years.  Recently, my weekly shots once again became twice a week and I decided I needed to do something drastic and soon. A friend of mine bought me The pH Miracle by Robert O. Young, Ph.D. and Shelley Redford Young. I read it over a couple weeks and decided, that while it sounded too good to be true, it was definitely worth giving a shot.

Last Wednesday, that same friend took me shopping and we bought me lots of alkaline food, mostly salad stuff, with some sprouted wheat tortillas and some rice noodles. This change of diet would require me to stop eating meat, bread, spaghetti, junk food, cheese, and even most fruit. After a few days of salads and olive oil dressing, I went back to the store and found a non-vinegar green garlic dressing, as well as soba noodles and tomato sauce without sugar and some lemon juice to add to my water.  The soba noodles were a godsend, I Love spaghetti and buckwheat is on the alkaline list.

The weekend was full of rushing around and activity, as my weekends usually are. And on Sunday I tried once again to eat a salad with olive oil dressing and gave in. Dressing with vinegar, I decided, is going to have to be part of the 20% acidity I’m allowed, though I was trying my best to get as close to 100% alkaline as I could at all times.  But to eat all the greens, I need them to taste better.

Tuesday, I crashed. I got up feeling dead, but went to work anyway, taking a cup of water and lemon juice with me. I made it just over two hours before I could not stand any longer and went home. I stopped at Subway and got a salad topped with tuna salad. When I got home, I added more tuna to it, but it was still pretty close to the 80/20 split. Ate and went to bed for almost four hours. On the way to gaming, I bought a salad at Burger King, and then a second at Walmart, as well as a little “Asain salad helper”(almonds, water chesnuts and snowpeas) thing and mixed all three together to have a huge salad dinner. When I got home, I toasted a sprouted wheat tortilla with olive oil and garlic.

This morning I got up, feeling a bit hungry, went out to Meijer and bought a cartload of veggies, as well as more rice and a pound of almonds and a little container of tofu to try. Made a big stirfry for lunch, ate a big bowl and put about two more meals worth in the fridge.

Conclusions:

I must eat More than I think I need. Bowl of Pasta != Bowl of Salad.

I must eat more nuts/seeds/grain/tofu/tuna.

Comments»

1. Mike - June 10, 2009

You make it sound like you crashed on Tuesday for lack of nutrition. 🙂

Hydy - June 10, 2009

Just from lack of eating enough, especially after three nights in a row of high adrenalin. :p


Leave a Reply

