jump to navigation

Career June 12, 2009

Posted by Hydy in writing.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Is it so wrong to want a job, where I can work from home, and get paid for the amount of work I do, rather than the amount of time it takes to do it? This is where I’m at right now. I want a job where I can set my own hours. I’d still meet deadlines, but not have to sit around for 8 hours if the task doesn’t take that long. I’d like to think I’m an efficient worker, and that my typing, writing and editing skills would be up to such a task. Sometimes I think I could happily do data entry, so long as I had specific goals and didn’t have to go someplace else to do it.

I want to write for a living, I want to be able to sustain myself with my writing. I’ve been writing a lot of different things lately, mostly not fiction. I still say I can’t write nonfiction. There’s a difference. I’ve been journaling mostly, writing about my life, about people and events. To me, nonfiction, the kind that actually pays, involves research and interviews and boring statistics. So, I write what comes to mind, and wonder how I ever expect to make money that way.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

