jump to navigation

Life, Work and Everything October 1, 2009

Posted by Hydy in alkaline, life, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Two weeks ago, I stepped down to a part time shelving position at Barnes & Noble. This was not entirely voluntary, but it is a position I will enjoy more than Head Cashier. This had many repercussions, some were unexpected, and others were met with relief. All in all, I will stay there only as long as I need the money at this point, as health insurance is no longer a noose around my neck(it was taken away by my manager).

On the front of getting away from needing the B&N income, I have started working as a consultant for Bookup.com which is owned and run by my friend Mike Leahy. In this job I do website updating and upkeep, database upkeep, as well as managing advertising campaigns on Google, Yahoo and MSN. Not to mention keeping him more on task than he’s used to with my OCD nature. Thus far a lot has been accomplished and a lot more work still has to be done. I am really enjoying this opportunity to help him out and to learn more about small businesses.

I am also regaining focus on my writing career. Right now, I have nine stories submitted to magazine markets, with a tenth sitting behind me waiting for a read through and polish. I am looking into starting an informational blog for writers for another stream of income. I’m also considering a Masters or a Certificate in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. And, going along with the starving artist theme, I currently have an application in with the Ohio Arts Council for an Individual Excellence Award, a grant for the beginning of next year.

My health is fairly stable, but I’m back on all my drugs, including my shots, trying to get my elbow to calm down. I’m still on the alkaline diet, but quickly losing faith in my ability to limit my medicinal needs. It’s obviously healthier than what I was eating, but my elbow frustrates me. The rest of my joints are doing well, though and I have a lot more energy.

On a random lark that I haven’t the slightest idea how to capitalize on, I have come up with an interesting(to me) product idea for carrying around the massive amount of gaming books(and minis and dice) we are once again amassing as 4th Edition D&D keeps printing new books every month. On the D&D tangent, our Tuesday group is having a great time and we are all getting geared up for our next game as we finish our current one. Details for those who are curious may be requested via email. 😉

Speaking of random larks, I’m going to Chicago in October to attend Unleashing the Power Within, a Tony Robbins seminar. The website says participants will: Break through the fears that hold you back (including unconscious fears). Create momentum in your life to make difficult things become effortless. Develop the physical vitality and energy you need to passionately follow through. Understand and take advantage of recent changes in the economy to secure and build your personal wealth. Learn the marketing principles you need to take advantage of the economic crisis and revolutionize your business. I’m going because the aforementioned Mike has been working at Tony Robbins seminars for twenty years and he finally talked me into going. I’m hoping for inspiration and information to help me on my newly decided path.

Comments»

1. Nature Job - October 1, 2009

So if our universe is burning down around us, it is probably we who set the fire. Nature Job


Leave a Reply

