jump to navigation

Between Holidays December 30, 2010

Posted by Hydy in alkaline, life, writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Christmas this past weekend, New Year’s this coming. I’m between holidays, and still in the midst of it all. I’m still wrapping presents for the nieces and nephews, still spending Christmas money from our parents, still surrounded by frantic shoppers at work. Still pondering what 2011 might bring.

I submitted a couple short stories earlier this week, to some new (to me) markets: Dream Child and The Demon Within to Beneath Ceaseless Skies and Apex Book Company, respectively. I still haven’t been writing much fantasy lately. It isn’t what’s on my mind these days, but I am trying to find homes for what I wrote before. In which vein, I also pulled a couple stories from markets that were unresponsive for over a year, even to polite queries.

My (admittedly weak) geek credentials were called into question this week, so I have started rereading The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It has been a decade since I first read it, and I’ve only ever seen the newest movie besides. Such a large number of books in my To Be Read stack, but sometimes you just have to go back to the classics.

Speaking of classics, one of my favorite finds of the Christmas DVD shopping has been all the TMNT movies in one pack, on two DVDs. This amuses me greatly. I watched the first movie yesterday and will take great pleasure sharing the second and third with Rich who has not seen them.

Health is fairly good this week. I am indulging a little more than usual to feed my cravings before the New Year hits and I must get back on track again. Winter is a hard time to eat fresh and green, but I can and will do better, I like feeling healthy without medication.

I really need to learn to find good ripe avocados, but I fear this is not the time of year to start that lesson. I have discovered, thanks to a restaurant in Texas and a friend who brought the recipe back, that I enjoy guacamole if it is made their way. Cut two avocados into chunks, squeeze a whole orange and a whole lime over them, add a little salt and (maybe) a little onion powder, and mix together. Delicious. They apparently added onions and maybe peppers at the restaurant, but I don’t like those things, so, simpler the better.  Also not really the season for good oranges or limes, I don’t think. Ah well.

Look for an inspired by the turn of the year post this weekend, unless I just end up sleeping. I have to be at work at 7am Saturday, followed by Christmas with four kids under the age of 5, and then the usual Saturday night. Sunday I may not open my eyes.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

