jump to navigation

Change Happens April 21, 2011

Posted by Hydy in life.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

The worse thing you can do is to do nothing.

The weekend was full of friends and family. Supporting each other, acknowledging each other and sharing with each other. We celebrated triumphs and mourned our losses. We hugged and laughed and cried together. And life keeps going.

Jobs are never stable, no matter what we think. We’re excited for Rich’s new opportunity, but other friends are questioning their “stable” jobs. I’ve worked for the store for over eight years, and this last one has given me the worst number of scheduled hours ever. And though, I would admit to getting more cynical, I do not believe I have become worse at the job.

I haven’t made really good financial choices in the last few years, but we’ve made due with what we’ve had and a lot of things were out of my control. This month, Rich got a better paying job and I found a cheaper apartment to consider moving to.

I’m working on projects and considering my next move. I tried Elance, but got frustrated with the lack of response to my proposals. I had several friends ask for help on webdesign, but then not follow through for various reasons. I applied for my (second) dream job again, with no response. I’m considering checking out the local academic houses, but last I looked, they wanted managers, not editing pool. Retail was never my end game, I’m still trying to figure out what is.

I’m looking to downsize, too, before moving. Sell some things on eBay. I have a rather large collection of Carebears and Carebear Cousins that are just taking up space. I loved them as a child, but find myself less attached and wishing I Sold It on eBay stores still existed. Have collections of the TMNT movie(all three) cards, too, but I don’t think anyone Ever paid real money for those. The weather might still be cold, but I’m infected with Spring Cleaning.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

