jump to navigation

Working Full Time… Sorta September 15, 2011

Posted by Hydy in life.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

So, last Friday I was asked to go in for an interview on Monday to help sort out the records at the school I keep talking about. They hired me on the spot and asked me to work for four weeks at slightly better pay than B&N. So, I said sure. They asked for 20 hours a week for at least the first two weeks, and then maybe 15 after that. Thus far, I have filled all the records requests that had backed up for both the old high school records and the current grade school records. I created a handful of new files out of old files and sent out records requests for them, and I have made two alphabetized stacks of files from a box labeled “Random.” And believe you me, it lived up to its name. Hurray for productivity and learning to use a fax machine.Next two projects: getting a state and federal background check and organizing 8 sets of alphabetized files into one continuous set of files. I think I’m also supposed to make copies of last year’s records for the files, but I’m not sure if the office manager is going to do that before I’m there tomorrow.

But this also means I’m working 32-40 hours a week now (depending on B&N), and generally 6 out of 7 days a week. So,I’m exhausted. I know most people do this all the time, but I’m not used to it anymore. Also, it is significantly delaying my web design course project, as I don’t have afternoons to work on it.  I do still have Monster sending me job listings, but I have the search on hold for the moment, too, until I see how this pans out.

Health-wise, still on a stable plateau. My hands/wrists got eaten by something at the school yesterday, but that’s just mild itchy annoyance. I need to get more glucosamine, but I find working full time cuts into errand time quite a bit. Maybe this weekend.

Comments»

1. Terri-Lyn - September 20, 2011

You have a cousin who understands first hand about the exhaustion factor. Justin started working in a factory last week after not working for over a year & it’s physically kicking his butt. I want to encourage you that you will get through this & having different experience to put on your resume doesn’t hurt, either. Love Ya Kiddo!!!

Hydy - September 21, 2011

Thanks. Love you, too, Aunt Terri. 🙂


Leave a Reply

