jump to navigation

One Week To Go December 15, 2011

Posted by Hydy in life.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Just over a week until Christmas. The store is busy, but I don’t work the evenings, so I don’t see the crazy. And I don’t have to work this coming weekend either – busiest weekend of the year.  So, I’m excited about that, too. I do have a forty hour week next week, including Christmas Eve, but hey. Can’t have everything.

I saw an article in the newspapers I put out today about some churches not having services on Christmas Sunday because “people don’t want to be in church on Christmas.” Now, much to Mom’s lament, I am no longer a regular church attender, but for those that are, this seems a ridiculous sentiment. In fact, before I read this headline, I was considering doing just that on Christmas morning. It’s Christmas… I mean, I suppose, folk’ll go to Christmas Eve services the night before, and once in a weekend is enough for s, buomet to not have services on a Sunday, because it is Christmas, just seems a little bit backwards to me.

Okay, enough ranting, back to your regularly scheduled commercialization of Christmas… So far, I’ve bought clothes with Christmas gift money. Pants, gloves, hat and socks. If I’m lucky, I’ll also manage new shoes. On the topic of pants, I don’t understand my body, and I wonder if I’m just odd or if other women have this problem. I tried to go thrifting, but after two runs through the racks for three different sizes, I gave up and went to Meijer where sizes are easier to come by. I have always felt my upper body is too small for my lower body and pants shopping proved it. I could not find a pair of pants big enough for my thighs and hips, and yet small enough for my waist. I did the best I could, but I still need to find a good belt that doesn’t pinch my belly. Maybe that’s what I’ll do with the little bit still left.

First holiday potluck of the season tonight, I should get ready and head out to that. Have a safe and happy holiday season all the way through to the New Year.

Comments»

1. broadsideblog - December 16, 2011

Buying pants is always a nightmare! Leggings can be a good solution…

You might enjoy my new memoir about working retail, with a chapter about the holidays called Deck the Halls, Not the Customers…

http://malledthebook.com/

2. Terri - December 16, 2011

I can vouch for your paternal grandmother’s genes causing havoc when buying jeans (or any other pants, for that matter).
Have a Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

