jump to navigation

Hunger Games, etc. May 17, 2012

Posted by Hydy in life.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I just finished reading Hunger Games. I got it free when I bought my nook Simple Touch. I found it to be excellent. I’ve always been one for survivalist kids books, and we meet Katniss heading out to the woods to hunt. So, I was at home immediately. Told in first person narrative, it draws you in, makes you identify with this young woman fighting to keep her family alive, even when she’s fighting for her own life, she is still worried about her family at home. Set in a dystopian future, where children are forced to fight to the death to prove the districts are powerless over the Capitol, the book is the start of a story of overreaching governmental power and the resulting inevitable rebellion.  I hope Suzanne Collins keeps up the good work and Catching Fire and Mockingjay are just as good. I am also curious how Hollywood played the story, might have to catch it at the dollar theater.

I also recently finished Promise of the Witch King by R.A. Salvatore. A Jarlaxle and Entreri story which takes the two to the northern wilds of Vaasa. Their interactions are incredibly entertaining as always. And Entreri starts to learn more about himself, letting the reader in on more of the private world of this enigmatic assassin. Next up, the finale of their trilogy – Road of the Patriarch.

Since last week, Rich and I have made our summer plans. We have a place to sleep at WorldCon, tickets to Boise for the week of July 4th and the weekend following it, and a plan for our Maine trip in August. Still working on the smaller stuff.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

