jump to navigation

Adventures in Book Signings November 14, 2013

Posted by Hydy in grad school, life.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Had a nice quiet weekend. I wrote my association review, watched the Alien movies and the last 2/3 of season 5 of CSI. Cuddled with the puppy, occasionally nuzzled the cat, and generally just took it easy trying to get over the illness, that Saturday morning had me hacking up a lung and calling off work. Feeling much better this week, but still have a lingering tickle that results in pathetic little dry coughs throughout the day.

We had Sarah Palin in the store this week, signing her new book Good Tidings, Great Joy. It was quite the event, with private security, police and many managers visiting from others stores to help out. I didn’t get the final count, but I think it was somewhere around 350+ people that came out to see her. Which was pretty good, considering it was at noon on a Wednesday while everyone was working. All in all, it went pretty smoothly.

My homework is done for this week, just a bunch of posting was due. I really enjoyed this week’s readings. The topic was access to information, so we read about things like genealogy, the cycle of information poverty, and changing from being gate-keepers to gate-openers as librarians. And now I have vague bubbles of ideas about making a genealogical database of my family, and then trying to put it online as a database driven website. Those things may not work the way I want them to work. Also, it’s a much bigger project than I’ll have time for, but we’ll see how obsessed with it I become. 😉

This weekend will be lots of hanging out with friends, and ends with my store Holiday Meeting. Which they are doing at 9pm instead of 7am, which I appreciate so very, very much. But they’re doing a potluck… at 9pm… on a Sunday. Most people have signed up to bring snacks and desserts. I don’t think anyone really wants dinner food that late at night. And then the madness of the holiday season officially begins. It has already snowed, so the state is ready.

Also, a belated Happy Birthday to my brother, who turned 35 on Sunday.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

