jump to navigation

A Very Good Week May 12, 2016

Posted by Hydy in life, reading.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I had a really good time at MarCon with friends this past weekend. Some tasty beverages, as usual, from the bar – even the premixes were delicious (maybe a little Too delicious…). Some very good food from both the hotel and Max & Erma’s. I visited the Art Show and the Dealers Room. All full of fun and crazy things. I even bought a new book, though I resisted buying any art – I really am bad at decorating with what I have already. I also played some games, both at the parties, and in the official gaming area – my first time ever playing a miniatures game – Star Wars Attack Wing, I believe – and I didn’t do too poorly at it, either. I did manage to be too responsible/helpful, and got promoted on Friday night, but my friends took good care of me/celebrated with me.

And the week just got better and better. On Monday, I was asked to do some further paperwork for an interview I’d had. Then, on Wednesday, I was offered, and accepted a new job from the Whitehall branch of the Columbus Metropolitan Library – Just up the road from me, and half a block from where I had my internship this fall. I start on the 23rd. So very excited!! (Submitted resignation letter to current job today.) It’s part time, so I can keep cataloging for Sprawl Library, while I get my feet wet learning the CML’s systems. Also, looking forward to being back on my feet and moving around on the job again.

I’ve finished the set of Heinlein I was working on, so now I’m listening to the first book in Brent Week’s Night Angel trilogy – thieves and assassins, my kind of book. 🙂

On a more political note, a post came across my Facebook yesterday that I think is very important: More Than 100 Methodist Ministers Defy Church Rules, Come Out as LGBT. Having grown up in the UMC, I feel that it is high time we remember that God is Love.

Comments»

1. Terri - May 14, 2016

Congrats on your new job!

Hydy - May 19, 2016

Thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

