jump to navigation

New Adventures August 25, 2016

Posted by Hydy in library, life, reading.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

The IFLA tour went well, we got lots of complements on our branch. Our management team survived long days at the conference. We’re getting into the swing of the school year, our Homework Help Center is already going strong. And our new branches are well on their way towards opening.

The moving everything into the center of every room for Pest Control was very interesting. Packed all my pewter, and two rows of books in the living room. Discovered hidden things in my kitchen in a cupboard I didn’t know I was using (too high to be useful for me). Emptied my bedroom closet shelf into suitcases, where those things will stay until after the move. Emptied my office closet, most of that went back in Tuesday. Cleaned up the bathroom a bit more, and bagged up everything in my medicine cabinets. I guess it went well, I haven’t seen any more bugs in the outside hall.

More excitement, last night, however. Rain started pouring into my office through a couple of holes in the ?head?board? of the window. Two, full power streams of water just falling down onto the sill. It’s not a place one normally looks on windows, but when I checked, all of mine have three or so such holes, that I don’t recall ever seeing before. I am assured this was not done on Monday, but must have been there before. I’ve never had rain stream into my apartment in the three years I’ve been here, though. They’ve put in a work order to check it out and fix it up. This can’t be good for the walls… Meantime, I have to wastebaskets sitting below the sill, surrounded by towels. Good thing I was awake during the storm last night.

I finished up Hat Full of Sky, and then Audible was having a Two-for-One sale, so I got Felicia Day’s You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) and Neil Gaiman’s Trigger Warnings.  The first, I loved, and was inspired by. She’s so young, you might say, why has she written a memoir already? At the time at the end of the memoir, she has just finished some major things in her life, including a lot of introspection and healing, and is unsure, but energized about what might come next. It’s a very heartwarming, funny, and crazy tale of a geeky, hippy-homeschooled, southern girl who chased her passion, and which encourages the reader/listener to do the same.

The second, I’m only a little way into. Other than Good Omens with Terry Pratchett, I’ve never tackled any of his novels, only his short fiction. Fragile Things left me confused and disturbed, and pretty sure I shouldn’t try the longer stuff. So, when this new collection popped up, I figured I could manage more of his short fiction. The introductory section was very interesting to me. He discussed why he wrote each of the stories in this book. Including a story about Ray Bradbury taking time out of his day to talk to a young boy who wanted to be a writer. As with most writers, the advice was to Write, Every Day, even when you don’t want to. Also a good reminder to this astray writer.

So, I’ve packed up my TV early, and set some goals. To find my passions again, to do the work, and stop staring at Netflix with my precious free time. I’ve got a lot do do before and during the move, but in those quiet moments, I need to feed myself, my soul, my heart.

Comments»

1. Terri - August 25, 2016

Glad the rain did not wreck any of your belongings. Caution: Binge watching on Netflix is the couch potato’s equivalent of Pokemon Go!

Hydy - September 2, 2016

Right, thus the packing it up. 🙂


Leave a Reply

