jump to navigation

Apartment Full of Boxes September 8, 2016

Posted by Hydy in life, photos, reading.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Living Room w/ Boxes

So, most of my apartment is now packed, and going to stay that way until I move in two weeks. I still have a bedroom and bathroom, and the minimum of needed things in my kitchen, but everything else is packed. At least repeated visits by pest control motivated me to pack early? I stopped by my soon-to-be rental office to see my new place yesterday, and still have to wait a couple days, but also ended up moving my lease signing date up by a day, as they are closing early on the day I intended to sign.

Over the weekend, I set up a WAMPServer on my laptop, install Drupal on said server, and got all the way through Drupal for Dummies, having to adjust for the several years, and therefore versions, since the book had been printed. The point of this was to start working on a genealogical site for all the research I’ve been doing, but not to have it on the internet before it’s complete. So, the intent is to get it all organized and the database filled before it goes anywhere near live online. So far, so good, though the newest version looks far more like WordPress than previous iterations, so I may just end up hand-coding anyway. We shall see.

I also finished listening to What If? and got all the way through Shepard’s Crown, the final book written by Terry Pratchett before he passed into the next world in 2015. The Nac Mac Feegles of his books inspired me to write a silly short story I called Fairy Wishes. I also finished Self-Inflicted Wounds – Heartwarming Tales of Humiliation by Aisha Tyler, on Rich’s recommendation, this afternoon. On the reading front, I’ve recently been trying my brain at Graphic Novels. So, I’ve read Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season 8, Book 1, and Y – The Last Man, books 1 and 2.

Upcoming plans – still hoping, but not betting, on going to the Ren Faire, getting some tech help next week to fix/upgrade my computers, lots of moving of things.

Comments»

1. Terri - September 10, 2016

Any early preparation for moving is a good thing — ask your parents!
(Don’t know who has moved more since turning 18, me or your dad.)


Leave a Reply

